Abels: “Borders” Premieres

On September 23, 2022, soloist Mak Grgić, premieres composer Michael Abels’ Borders, Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra, with ROCO (River Oaks Chamber Orchestra) in Houston, TX. Mei-Ann Chen guest-conducts. The two-movement, 17-minute concerto was commissioned for Grgić by ROCO and the Quad City Symphony Orchestra (Iowa). The concert will be live-streamed, and will receive a […] Read more »

Sierra: An Electrifying Work

“Roberto Sierra’s Concerto for Saxophones and Orchestra is an electrifying work.” As the Chicago Sinfonietta’s performances of Sierra’s concerto approach, soloist Julian Velasco shares his enthusiasm about his upcoming concerts. Originally commissioned by the Detroit Symphony for internationally renowned saxophonist James Carter, Sierra’s 23-minute score blends classical and jazz elements, and highlights the virtuoso possibilities […] Read more »

Sierra & Stubblefield @ BargeMusic

For the 2022 Labor Day Holiday weekend, BargeMusic – located in Brooklyn, NY – presents pianist Marc Peloquin in the premiere of new works by composers Roberto Sierra and Roger Stubblefield. Peloquin performs Sierra’s Sonata No. 9, and will also be joined by mezzo-soprano Sophie Delphis to premiere Stubblefield’s Reveries, Opus 25. Concerts will take […] Read more »

Moravec: Sanctuary Road @ Chautauqua

“Even if it costs you your life. Write it. Write…Every word. Every detail…Write it down…Write. Record. Recount. Chronicle. Write.” — William Still, The Underground Railroad Records On August 18, 2022, Paul Moravec’s lauded oratorio Santuary Road — written in collaboration with librettist Mark Campbell — will be presented at the Chautauqua Institution (in western New […] Read more »

Sierra: Fandangos at Tanglewood

“I am an enormous fan of Roberto Sierra’s music.” Maestra JoAnn Falletta shares her enthusiasm as her August 6 concert approaches at the 2022 Tanglewood Music Festival, where she will conduct the Boston Symphony in the first Tanglewood performance of Sierra’s celebrated work Fandangos. The 12-minute orchestral piece was originally commissioned by the National Symphony, […] Read more »