CBNDA Presents Galbraith World Premiere

Aromas, Colors, and Flavors of Spring

“Nancy Galbraith at home in her studio.” Photo: Matthew Galbraith

Winter’s finally here, and like many of us right now, Nancy Galbraith has a bit of spring fever. But, unlike the rest of us, hers will be cured on February 18th when the Indiana University of Pennsylvania Wind Ensemble (Indiana, PA) premieres her new band piece Febris Ver (“Spring Fever”). Jason Worzbyt conducts the one-movement, 8-minute work, which was commissioned by the College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA).

IUP Wind Ensemble, Courtesy: IUP Lively Arts

“My studio window looks out over our backyard garden,” Galbraith shares. “It’s where I spend many joyous, peaceful hours once the fall semester is over. I started writing Febris Ver in mid-January last year, just about the time I usually begin staring out the window and longing for spring. As the music began to take form, I eventually realized, to my amusement, that it was a subliminal expression of my burning spring fever. Febris Ver is a variegated post-minimalist landscape that evokes the sensuous essences of spring. The aromas, colors, flavors, and aural delights of Earth’s perennial rebirths are interwoven with chorale-like textures, first introduced by the brass, and then playfully tossed about by the rest of the ensemble.” Febris Ver receives its second hearing on March 2nd at the CBDNA 2012 Eastern Division Conference.

“Nancy’s music is so fresh; and it’s been a real pleasure preparing this new work! It combines elements of minimalism, rhythmic intensity, clever orchestration, and excitement that makes you want to jump out of your seat when the performance is over! Her music is incredibly well crafted, and she certainly knows how to fully take advantage of all the creative possibilities from the contemporary wind band. We are so fortunate to have her [here] in our backyard! To say I am excited about doing this world premiere is an understatement! – Jason Worzbyt, conductor


Upcoming Galbraith news: On March 24th & 25th, the Westmoreland Choral Society (Greensburg, PA) premieres Galbraith’s Hodie Christus Natus Est, a four-movement, 15-minute commission for chorus and ensemble. In April, Lyrica Chamber Music (Chatham, NJ) presents its own commissioned work—Four Nature Canticles. Written for female voices and chamber orchestra, the 20-minute work features texts by Robert Browning, Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost and James Joyce.

Find out more about Nancy Galbraith

Purchase Nancy Galbraith’s music